Cannington's unfinished symphony
The Old Town Hall 2nd-floor space in Cannington awaits its rebirth as a vibrant arts centre.
In 2010 the Old Town Hall in Cannington began its profound transformation to what is now an important hub in our community. With the award of a 1.4 million dollar Federal Infrastructure grant, the grand old building underwent major renovations and refitting to become as it is now called, the Timothy Findley Branch of the Brock Township Library.
Much of the charm of the original design remains today and should we secure the space, OCA will be adapting to retain the endearing character of the 2nd floor while developing a multi-use facility that responds to artists and community needs in a contemporary setting.
A Rich History revisited
For a total cost of $7000 the Cannington Town Hall was constructed in 1887 on a lot that was purchased from Mr. James Johnston. The new building contained the Council chambers, municipal offices, fire hall, police office and jail, and until 1971, the town’s library (known as the Mechanics’ Institute). The second floor housed an auditorium which was used by the community for plays, musicals, and events.
In 1897, a Thanksgiving Service was hosted in the Town Hall to honor Queen Victoria. Later, services were also held there to celebrate the Armistice on November 11, 1918. The first moving-picture show held in Cannington was presented in the hall’s auditorium in 1902 by the Sunday school of the Methodist Church.
a gradual re-birth
In April 2011, the Cannington Library Branch of the Brock Township Library moved back to the building and reopened in October 2011 as the Timothy Findley Memorial Library Branch. The second floor remains vacant to this day.